G2, XSET, Status Quo among others qualify for Thursday’s NA Pro Series

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

The fourth Open Series of Halo Infinite took place on Sunday as teams from all four regions fought for a spot in next week’s Pro Series tournaments.

In North America seven of the top-eight teams from last week -- Cloud9, FaZe, eU, KCP, BBG, OxG and SSG -- each were automatically invited to this coming week’s tournament while Sentinels were replaced by OpTic. This means these eight didn’t compete during this Open Series tournament.

This meant that the only remaining partnered NA HCS organization of G2 Esports managed to breeze through the tournament with relative ease, not dropping a single map throughout.

The ex-G2 player of Uriah "Artic" Legorreta also qualified on his new team of XSET after the lineup fell short last week. Their path was longer, however, as they lost in the decider match against Astra which previously finished just outside of the top-16 at the Raleigh Major. Nevertheless, XSET then handily won their lower bracket game 3-0 to book in their spot on Thursday.

Another well-known name that made it is Status Quo as Michael "Flamesword" Chaves’ newly registered organization did one game better than last week to lock in a Pro Series spot while playing with a new player in the 100 Thieves streamer of Ian "Enable" Wyatt.

The team secured this with a 3-2 win over EXO which includes the ex-Status Quo player of Victor "PiLEZ". This came after they lost in the upper bracket to a team simply called “H5 Settings Plz” which went on to clinch a spot of their own. This team notably includes Chris "Perzecute" who also teamed with Flamesword during the first Halo Infinite Open Series.

The final three teams to qualify were Gamers First, Unsigned Talent who beat G1 in their decider match, and the ex-Team WaR lineup playing under the name “Business”. This adds the following eight teams to the eight listed previously for Week 2 of the Pro Series on Thursday:

  • G2 Esports -- Gilkey, Sabinater, Tusk, and Str8 SicK
  • Business -- SuperCC, Envore, Juziro, and Sceptify
  • Astra -- Dynamics, Impulsion, Psylince, and Sljnky
  • Unsigned Talent -- Abature, AvenueSZN, HotShotGhost, tonisun
  • XSET -- Cratos, Articc, Suppressed, and Svspector
  • Gamers First -- Squallaye, Ali, Karmea, and PreDevoNator
  • Status Quo -- Flamesword, Enable, Burton, Fragou7
  • H5 Settings Plz -- Demonsiu, Evolving7, Persecute, and Pyrettic

This lineup means that every North American team that finished in the top-16 at the Raliegh Major will be competing during the Pro Series with the exception of Sentinels and The Guard. The games will kick off on Thursday with the main broadcast starting at 6pm EST.

click to enlarge